Skip navigation
1987 Views 8 Replies Latest reply: Apr 19, 2012 2:36 AM by MikeLockwood RSS
FrankS.Schiavone Platinum 1,340 posts since
Sep 8, 2011
Currently Being Moderated

Mar 9, 2012 9:35 AM

So, why doesn't "update" actually WORK?

I have "dm_overwrite_contents_on_update" set to "yes", and an overwrite in Intralink worked just fine, every time......yet now in W/C update doesn't actually do anything?  Huh?

  • ptc-4108908 Copper 6 posts since
    Mar 12, 2012
    Currently Being Moderated
    Mar 12, 2012 9:08 PM (in response to FrankS.Schiavone)
    Re: So, why doesn't "update" actually WORK?

    We experienced the same problem in Windchill 10 now. But for 9.1 update was working. Hope this can be corrected.

  • ptc-1887275 Copper 1 posts since
    Nov 2, 2008
    Currently Being Moderated
    Mar 22, 2012 1:38 PM (in response to FrankS.Schiavone)
    Re: So, why doesn't "update" actually WORK?

    Hi

     

    The definition of the Update action in Windchill differs from Pro/INTRALINK. In Windchill you use the Update action in order to update out-of-date objects, i.e. retrieve a later version of an object to the workspace from commonspace. E.g. you have version 1.4 (A.4) in the workspace and there's a 1.5 (A.5) version in commonspace. The Update action will overwrite the 1.4 version with the 1.5 version. With the dm_overwrite_contents_on_update preference you can set the default behaviour when you have modified the 1.4 version using continue. If it is set to Yes you will overwrite the modification made to the 1.4 version. If it is set to No you will keep your changes but they will have been made to the 1.5 version. E.g if the 1.4 version is a simple extrude. You have modified the 1.4 version using continue, adding a hole.The 1.5 version contains the simple extrude and a round. If you use Update and have the dm_overwrite_contents_on_update preference set to No you would have the 1.5 version in the workspace with the extrude and the hole without the round (i.e. you have overwitten whats in the commonspace). If you check it out and check it in the 1.5 version would be the extrude+hole and not the extrude+round.

     

    The action to overwrite modified content in the workspace (made by you) is Add (read Add to workspace). E.g. you have the 1.4 version in the workspace and you have made modifications to it using continue. You can deselect the Reuse content in target workspace or go to the Advanced tab, select the objects and click Download. I would suggest that you go to the Advanced tab so that you can decide what objects to overwrite and what objects to reuse. E.g. if you use the Add action on an assembly the dependencies set to required will overwrite all modifications made to all parts if you deselect the Reuse content in target workspace check box.

     

    Hope this helps.

     

    /Martin

     

    The

  • ptc-4108908 Copper 6 posts since
    Mar 12, 2012
    Currently Being Moderated
    Apr 9, 2012 11:22 PM (in response to FrankS.Schiavone)
    Re: So, why doesn't "update" actually WORK?

    Frank,

     

    When the update applet appears, click on the download icon to use the file in the commonspace.

  • hammerhead Copper 2 posts since
    Jul 25, 2008
    Currently Being Moderated
    Apr 18, 2012 6:50 AM (in response to FrankS.Schiavone)
    Re: So, why doesn't "update" actually WORK?

    Frank,

     

    Why would someone decide to redefine the meaning of "update" to something else?  Update doesn't mean update anymore.  What were they thinking?  Someday I'm going to meet one of these programmers and maybe we'll be able to come to an understanding.  I have never seen a program so unintuitive.

More Like This

  • Retrieving data ...

Bookmarked By (0)

Legend

  • Correct Answers - 3 points
  • Helpful Answers - 1 points